About

Travel Blog Sommertage

“Hi, we are Kathi and Romeo. Free spirited Wanderers and Freelancers.”

We are so glad that you have landed here and we want to share a bit about ourselves so you get a better feel for who we are and what we stand for.

It’s been roughly six years now, since the day we decided that we wanted to explore and discover more of this beautiful world together. The “Book now” button stared at us and we clicked – without having the slightest idea of where this would lead us.

The spontaneity of our action was what gave rise to this travel blog, which nowadays, is one of the most successful in Austria.

Sommertage: Our Personal Travel Blog

On our travel blog, we share with you our passion for travelling and photography. Both adventures from afar and those right on our doorstep. What exactly does that mean?

  • We bring to you the most beautiful places and countries in this world: from Myanmar to New Zealand; from Mexico to our home in Austria, and so much more.
  • We provide you with our best travel tips. Tried and tested, so you can rest assured.
  • We pride ourselves on presenting our most honest opinions in our travel reports and guides. This means of course, that not everything is perfect and we share both the positives and negatives to give you the best and most realistic representation of these destinations.
  • We also create travel videos, in which we take you along with us on our journey.

Important Disclaimer: We only ever share our most honest opinions with you and this also applies to the various partnerships we have with brands and corporations. Which means that for us, sponsorship does not always equate to positive reviews, but rather open and honest ones.

And before you ask, we are not backpackers, neither are we flash packers or glampers. We wouldn’t want to restrict ourselves to only one style of travelling. We are who we are – free spirited individual travellers. And you are you. Therefore, what may be best for us, may not be the case for you. That’s good though! We want you to get the most out of your journey so we definitely don’t want to impose our travel style onto anyone. Through our Travel Blog, we hope to show you how it’s possible to integrate periods of travel into your life.

FAQ: Your Questions – Our Responses

In almost 6 years as travel bloggers, we have collated some of the most relevant and frequently asked questions, which we would like to answer for you here.

“Why is your blog called Sommertage?”

Sommertage in German, translates to Summer Days in English. On our first big trip together (which was exactly 6 years ago), we were travelling exclusively to hot/tropical regions. Since every day was a summer day, this gave rise to the name: Sommertage.

“So what do you do in winter then?”

Well then, we escape to other parts of the world where it’s summer over there! But at the heart of it all, summer days is our personal metaphor for optimism, the seek for exhilaration and for freedom – because that’s what travel is to us.

Therefore, it exists for us in the mind no matter where we are. So we do not only travel to warm tropical places, we are also very passionate about various winter sports and derive much joy from the sight of snow-capped mountains.

“Do you always travel in pairs?”

Yes, we often get this question as well. In most cases, we travel in pairs. Why? We like to share our emotions, the positives and the negatives. In addition, we can capture the moments much better travelling as a pair, whether it be a photo, video or simply a memory.

“What camera do you use?”

One of the most frequently asked questions ever. We photograph 99.9% of the time with our Nikon D750. In this case, when we say ‘we’, it’s mostly Romeo. He is responsible for most of the beautiful photos you see.

“Do you also spend much time at home in Vienna?”

Yes, more often than you might think. Even if, on the outside, it looks as if we are constantly travelling around the world, we spend countless days in front of the laptop. Sounds… not so glamorous? But that’s the reality and for us, it’s so worth it because we love what we do and we love sharing it with you guys.

“Do you make a living off your blog?”

We are self-employed and our blog is just one source of income for us. Part of our income is derived through affiliate marketing, which means that we recommend accommodation, tours or products in our articles and receive a small commission in return if you use our links. In addition, we also partner up with selected companies on occasion. Apart from that, we both have a second job: Kathi works as a freelance copywriter, Romeo as a freelance journalist.

Ngapali Myanmar Route

Fun Facts About Us

Romeo

Kathi about Romeo: “Calm, laid back, optimist, individualist and tomato hater. Romeo is the one with the worst orientation in the world and the one who certainly never has a city map with him. Sarcasm is his middle name. I do not know anybody who hugs people with such joy, nor anybody more lovable.”

What Romeo has to say: “I agree on all points, but that about my orientation simply doesn’t sit well with me. Plus, I only hate tomatoes in their original form – as ketchup they are fantastic.”

Kathi

Romeo about Kathi:Constantly in search of the unique. Perfectionist and scaredy cat. But pushing in the right direction does wonders. If something goes the way she intended, she can hardly keep up with her energy and enthusiasm. If not, then it all comes tumbling down… big time.”

What Kathi has to say: “Yes, yes and yes. If I may also add: I’m a huge caffeine lover and true representation of my star sign (Cancer). I also like the Beatsteaks, yoga and reflective people. Intolerance does not mesh well with me.”

Inselwiese Dinkelsbühl

The Long Version of Our Story (For Those Interested)

Nine years ago, we sat in the same seminar at university. (Before anyone asks: It was Kathi who made the first move.) Ever since, we have been going through life together. We are so similar and yet so different. But on occasions when it really matters, we complement each other perfectly. Our apartment is our oasis, our little tranquil haven on the outskirts of Vienna and in close proximity to beautiful nature.

On sunny days, we love our long strolls through the Lainzer Tiergarten. It’s the best feeling when we see wild boars cross our paths. Oh and the Naschmarkt, we love that place. Above all, we love to eat falafels and hummus. Scratch that, we love food in general. This means cooking as well. But above all, what we love most is travelling.

Six years ago, we set out and went travelling together. In five months we explored New Zealand and Southeast Asia. We swam in the sea with turtles, observed seals and penguins up close. We had a water fight with children in Cambodia, celebrated Songkran in Thailand, climbed volcanoes and glaciers, looked down from the tallest building in the world, we celebrated, laughed, and lived. In short, we had a blast.

And then?

Well, first we came back to Vienna, with a backpack full of memories. And then… no plans. We became restless. Disoriented. We dove into the normal work life. But even before signing the contracts, we knew it would not last.

It’s been three years since everything changed drastically for us. Since then we create our own schedule for every day. When we are not on the road, our days are rather unexciting. These non-eventful days consist of sitting in front of the laptop, writing, researching, brainstorming, and drinking copious amounts of coffee. For us, there is no typical weekend, nor do we really have a Sunday (as Romeo works as a journalist on Sundays). But that’s okay. For us, this trade-off is worth it.

Why? Because we can choose to travel as often as we like, and usually we like to go to faraway places. Like Mexico. Or Indonesia. Sometimes we stay in Europe, we explore France, Portugal or our neighbouring country, Germany. And sometimes, when we are itching for adventure but cannot go away for too long, then we discover our own beautiful country, Austria. There is beauty to be seen and discovered no matter where in the world you are, you simply have to seek it. That’s why we’ve been writing more about our hometown, Vienna recently. That’s the nice thing about travelling: you learn to appreciate the little things, you become more minimalistic and more mindful as a result.

We would love to have you follow us along on our travels. It seems you are interested in our blog and what we do, otherwise you would not have read this far – so thank you for that and for your support! We want to share our travels and be a source of inspiration for you.

If you would like to know more, please don’t hesitate to write to us at: info@sommertage.com. We look forward to hearing from you!

All the best,

Kathi & Romeo

New York Reisetipps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close

About

Andros Batsi

Hi, wir sind Kathi und Romeo. Freigeister. Reisende. Individualisten.

Schön, dass du hier gelandet bist! Darüber freuen wir uns sehr.

Vor mittlerweile sechs Jahren haben wir beschlossen, gemeinsam die Welt zu entdecken. „Jetzt buchen“ stand da und wir haben geklickt – ohne nur die leiseste Ahnung zu haben, wohin das führen würde.

Diese Nacht-und-Nebel-Aktion war der Grundstein für diesen Reiseblog, der heute zu den erfolgreichsten in Österreich zählt.

Sommertage: Unser persönlicher Reiseblog

Auf unserem Reiseblog teilen wir unsere Leidenschaft fürs Reisen und für Fotografie. Für Abenteuer aus der Ferne und jene vor der Haustür. Was das genau bedeutet?

  • Wir zeigen dir wunderschöne Orte und Länder auf dieser Welt: Myanmar, Neuseeland, Mexiko und viele, viele mehr.
  • Wir versorgen dich mit unseren besten Reisetipps. Selbst erprobt und für dich getestet, versteht sich.
  • Natürlich erwarten dich hier auch viele ehrliche Berichte. Nicht immer finden wir alles super und wir sind die letzten, die negative Eindrücke beschönigen.
  • Außerdem nehmen wir dich in unseren Videos mit auf unsere Reise.

Ganz wichtig: Auf unserem Reiseblog landet immer nur unsere ehrliche Meinung. Das gilt natürlich auch dann, wenn wir mit Kooperationspartnern zusammenarbeiten.

Und bevor jemand fragt: Wir sind keine Backpacker. Und auch keine Flashpacker. Wir mögen kein Schubladendenken. Wir sind wir. Ganz individuell. Und du bist du. Was für uns das Beste sein mag, ist es für dich vielleicht nicht. Das ist gut so. Wir möchten, dass du für dich das Beste aus deiner Reise herausholst. Wir möchten unseren Reisestil niemandem aufzwängen. Ganz bestimmt nicht. Aber wir möchten dir auf unserem Reiseblog zeigen, wie es möglich ist, intensives Reisen in dein Leben zu integrieren.

FAQ: Du fragst – wir antworten

In fast 6 Jahren als Reiseblogger haben sich einige Fragen gesammelt. Die wichtigsten und meist gestellten möchten wir hier beantworten.

„Warum heißt euer Blog Sommertage?“

Auf unserer ersten gemeinsamen großen Reise (ja genau, die vor 6 Jahren) waren wir ausschließlich in heißen/tropischen Regionen unterwegs. Jeder Tag war ein Sommertag. Voilà: Sommertage.

„Und was macht ihr im Winter?“

Dann holen wir uns die Sommertage zu uns, ganz einfach – irgendwo ist immer Sommer! Und außerdem: Sommertage entstehen nicht zuletzt im Kopf. Sie sind unsere persönliche Metapher für Optimismus, für Euphorie und für Freiheit. Denn das ist es, was Reisen ausmacht.

Wir berichten übrigens nicht ausschließlich über warme Orte. Wir sind auch leidenschaftliche Wintersportler und finden kaum etwas schöner als den Anblick schneebedeckter Berge.

„Reist ihr immer zu zweit?“

Ja, auch diese Frage bekommen wir oft gestellt. In den allermeisten Fällen reisen wir zu zweit. Warum? Wir teilen gerne unsere Emotionen, die positiven wie die negativen. Außerdem können wir den Augenblick zu zweit viel besser einfangen, sei es als Foto, als Video oder in unseren Köpfen.

„Mit welcher Kamera fotografiert ihr?“

Eine der meist gestellten Fragen überhaupt. Wir fotografieren zu 99,9 Prozent mit unserer Nikon D750. „Wir“ ist übrigens in diesem Fall meist Romeo. Er ist für den Großteil der Fotos verantwortlich.

In diesem Artikel zeigen wir dir unser gesamtes Equipment: Unser Fotoausrüstung.

„Seid ihr auch mal zu Hause in Wien?“

Viel öfter als die meisten denken. Auch, wenn es nach außen hin so aussieht, als würden wir ständig in der Weltgeschichte herumreisen, so sitzen wir sehr oft den ganzen Tag am Laptop. Klingt unglamourös? Ist es auch. Aber für uns ist es trotzdem der schönste Job der Welt.

„Könnt ihr von eurem Blog leben?“

Wir sind selbstständig und unser Blog ist eine der Einnahmequellen. Wir verdienen einen Teil unseres Geldes durch Affiliate Marketing. Das bedeutet, dass wir in unseren Artikeln Unterkünfte, Touren oder Produkte empfehlen und eine kleine Provision erhalten. Außerdem arbeiten wir mit ausgewählten Kooperationspartnern zusammen. Abgesehen davon haben wir beide noch eine Nebentätigkeit: Kathi arbeitet als selbstständige Texterin, Romeo als freier Journalist.

Ngapali Myanmar Route

Persönliche Fakten über uns

Romeo

Kathi über Romeo: „Ruhepol, Entschleuniger, Optimist, Individualist und Tomatenhasser. Romeo ist der Mensch mit der schlechtesten Orientierung der Welt und derjenige, der mit Sicherheit nie einen Stadtplan dabei hat. Sarkasmus ist sein zweiter Vorname. Ich kenne niemanden, der mit solch einer Freude Menschen auf den Arm nimmt und auch niemanden, der liebenswerter ist.“

Und das sagt Romeo dazu: „Ich stimme in allen Punkten zu, aber das mit der Orientierung kann ich auf mir nicht sitzen lassen. Und: Tomaten hasse ich nur in ihrer ursprünglichen Form. Als Ketchup sind sie super.“

Kathi

Romeo über Kathi: „Auf der Suche nach dem Besonderen, und das ständig. Perfektionistin und Angsthase. Ein Schubser in die richtige Richtung bewirkt jedoch Wunder. Wenn etwas so läuft, wie sie sich das vorstellt, ist sie vor lauter Energie und Enthusiasmus kaum zu halten. Wenn nicht, dann kracht’s. Gewaltig.“ 

Und das sagt Kathi darüber: „Ja, ja und ja. Was ich noch ergänzen würde: Mein Sternzeichen (Krebs) kann ich nicht verleugnen. Koffein-Liebhaberin. Außerdem mag ich die Beatsteaks, Yoga und reflektierte Menschen. Intoleranz geht gar nicht.“

Inselwiese Dinkelsbühl

Für alle Interessierten: Die Langfassung unserer Geschichte

Vor neun Jahren saßen wir im gleichen Seminar an der Uni. (Bevor jemand fragt: Es war Kathi, die den ersten Schritt gemacht hat.) Seitdem gehen wir gemeinsam durchs Leben. Wir sind uns ähnlich und doch so unterschiedlich. Wenn es darauf ankommt, ergänzen wir uns perfekt. Unsere Wohnung ist unsere Oase, unser kleiner Ruhepol am Rande von Wien, von dem aus man ganz schnell in der Natur ist.

An sonnigen Tagen lieben wir ausgedehnte Spaziergänge durch den Lainzer Tiergarten. Am schönsten ist es, wenn Wildschweine unseren Weg kreuzen. Und den Naschmarkt, den lieben wir auch. Am liebsten essen wir einen Vorspeisenteller mit Hummus, Falafel und allem drum und dran. Überhaupt lieben wir Essen. Und kochen. Und reisen, das lieben wir ganz besonders.

Vor sechs Jahren zogen wir los und gingen gemeinsam auf Reisen. In fünf Monaten erkundeten wir Neuseeland und Südostasien. Wir schwammen im Meer mit Schildkröten, beobachteten Robben und Pinguine aus nächster Nähe. Wir lieferten uns mit Kindern in Kambodscha eine Wasserschlacht, feierten Songkran in Thailand, bestiegen Vulkane und Gletscher, blickten vom höchsten Gebäude der Welt in die Tiefe, wir feierten, lachten, lebten. Kurzum: Wir hatten eine großartige Zeit.

Und danach?

Wir kamen erst mal wieder zurück nach Wien. Mit einem Rucksack voller Erinnerungen. Und doch planlos. Rastlos. Orientierungslos. Wir stürzten uns ins Angestellten-Leben. Noch bevor wir den Vertrag unterschrieben hatten, wussten wir, dass dies nichts von Dauer ist.

Drei Jahre ist es nun her, dass sich auf einen Schlag alles änderte. Seither gestalten wir jeden Tag so, wie es uns beliebt. Wenn wir nicht unterwegs sind, sehen unsere Tage recht unglamourös aus: Wir sitzen vor dem Laptop. Schreiben. Recherchieren. Brainstormen. Trinken Kaffee. Bei uns gibt es kein klassisches Wochenende und auch keinen Sonntag (allein schon deshalb, weil Romeo am Sonntag journalistisch tätig ist). Und das ist okay.

So oft wie möglich verabschieden wir uns in die Ferne. Zum Beispiel nach Mexiko. Oder nach Indonesien. Manchmal bleiben wir auch in Europa, wir erkunden Frankreich, Portugal oder unser Nachbarland Deutschland. Und manchmal, wenn wenig Zeit bleibt, entdecken wir Österreich. Denn wir sind uns einig, dass es überall auf der Welt wunderschöne Plätze gibt, man muss nur genau hinsehen. Daher schreiben wir kürzlich auch vermehrt über unsere Heimatstadt Wien. Das ist das schöne am Reisen: Man lernt, die Kleinigkeiten zu schätzen, man wird minimalistischer und achtsamer.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn du uns auf unseren Reisen begleitest. Offenbar interessiert es dich, was wir so treiben, sonst hättest du nicht bis hierhin gelesen. Dafür sagen wir danke! Wir möchten dir von unseren Reisen erzählen, wir möchten eine Inspirationsquelle sein.

Du möchtest mehr wissen? Schreib uns doch: info@sommertage.com. Wir freuen uns, von dir zu hören!

Alles Liebe,

Kathi & Romeo

New York Reisetipps

38 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Schließen